Skip to Content

The New Electoral Map After the 2020 Census

The United States chose a new president in 2020, but we also got a new Electoral College map based on the 2020 U.S. Census.

That’s because the next U.S. Census will lead to congressional apportionment.

The new electoral vote map will be first used in the 2024 presidential election.

Winners and Losers of the 2020 Census

Texas has gained two more votes in Congress and the Electoral College for the next decade, while Colorado, Florida, Montana, North Carolina and Oregon each gained one seat..

The seven states losing one vote each are California, Illinois, Michigan, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and West Virginia.

Based on the 2020 election results, Joe Biden would have received three less electoral votes if the new map had been in place.


Here’s the New Electoral Map

This is the electoral map that will be used for the 2024 presidential election. However, it’s shown using the 2020 election results but with the new electoral vote allocations based on the U.S. Census.

The electoral map is interactive. Just click on the states to flip them between Red, Blue and Toss Up.


Republican: Democrat: Toss Up: